(Excerpt from the Springville City Source newsletter Summer 2022.)
Here are some important State of Utah laws governing things that are fun to ride. Please stay safe.
(2) A person under eight years of age may not operate a motor assisted scooter with the motor running on any public property, highway, path, or sidewalk. (3) A person may not operate a motor assisted scooter: ... (e) at a speed of greater than 15 miles per hour or in violation of Subsection 41-6a-1115.1(3).
Source: Utah Code Title 41 Chapter 6a Part 11 Section 1115
An individual under 16 years old may not operate a class 3 electric assisted bicycle, which is an electric assisted bicycle equipped with motor or electronics that: Provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling; ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches
the speed of 28 miles per hour; and is equipped with a speedometer.
(5) An individual under 14 years old may not operate an electric assisted bicycle with the electric motor engaged on any public property, highway, path, or sidewalk unless the individual is under the direct supervision of the individual's parent or guardian. (6) An individual under eight years old may not operate an electric assisted bicycle with the electric motor engaged on any public property, highway, path, or sidewalk.
Source: Source: Utah Code Title 41 Chapter 6a Part 11 Section 1115.5
As a general rule, in order to legally drive a motor vehicle on a roadway, the vehicle must be registered and equipped with all required safety equipment (headlamps, tail lamps, license plate, turn signals, horn, and a lot more). Go-karts are typically not street legal.
(1) A person operating a bicycle or a vehicle or device propelled by human power shall: (a) yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian; and (b) give an audible signal before overtaking and passing a pedestrian.